Who is the 2019 European Capital of Culture in Italy?

The other five cities that were short-listed > were Cagliari, Lecce, Perugia, Ravenna and Siena., Graffiti Goose

Matera–that’s right–is to be 2019 European Capital of Culture in Italy

The formal designation of Matera, together with Plovdiv (Bulgaria) the other recommended city for the European Capitals of Culture 2019, is expected to be made by the EU’s Council of Ministers sometime in 2015.

Cities with the EU title should prepare a cultural programme with a strong European dimension, which fosters the participation of citizens in the city, its neighbourhood and the whole country.

The programme must have a lasting impact and contribute to the long-term cultural and social development of the city, like Literature or Art.  Cooperation between cultural operators in different EU countries is also encouraged.

Following Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia) 2014, Mons (Belgium) and Plzen (Czech Republic) will be European Capitals of Culture in 2015, Wrocław (Poland) and Donastia San Sebastián (Spain) in 2016, Aarhus (Denmark) and Paphos (Cyprus) in 2017 and Valletta (Malta) and Leeuwarden (Netherlands) in 2018.

2 thoughts on “Who is the 2019 European Capital of Culture in Italy?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s